Holiday Favorites

Happy Holidays. In an effort to seem more into the spirit, I quickly compiled a short list of some of my favorite things about Christmas time. I hope you’re all enjoying the season with loved ones and cherishing your friends and families as the true gifts that they are. Merry Christmas.

Favorite Christmas Story: Only the scroogiest of jerk-offs could find a way to dislike Dickens’ “A Christmas Carol.” It’s one of those classics that will never go out of style for a reason. “’Twas The Night Before Christmas” is also a great little story that I remember having read to me as a small child. But my favorite Christmas story for the last several years is David Sedaris’ “Santaland Diaries.” I listen to so much NPR that this is one of the few holiday productions that I do actually catch each year. And it makes me smile each and every time.

Favorite Christmas joke: “A severed foot is the ultimate stocking stuffer” Mitch Hedburg. Another dead genius.

Favorite Christmas movie: I don’t know. I don’t watch a lot of movies anymore and without television service at my house, I don’t catch a lot of them at all anymore. But A Christmas Story stays near the top of my list. National Lampoon’s Christmas Vacation still makes me laugh. And I’m pretty sure I’d watch Die Hard or Lethal Weapon right now if either one was on (both set at Christmas time). But my favorite thing to watch is probably still the Charlie Brown Christmas Special. It’s short which is perfect for me, it’s got a great soundtrack, and it’s just pretty awesome all the way around.

I haven’t seen it in a few years. Maybe I’ll have to do something about that later.

Favorite Christmas Song:
I don’t really have a single favorite Christmas song. There are so many good ones (that I still don’t want to hear a single note of before Thanksgiving), Sprinsteen’s “Santa Claus is Coming to Town,” Nat King Coles “The Christmas Song,” Robert Earl Keen’s “Merry Christmas from the Family,” or the entire Kenny and Dolly holiday catalogue.

But when I was a little boy I would spend a lot of time around the holidays at my grandparent’s house where they would keep a pretty steady rotation of 1940’s era Christmas records spinning on the house stereo. My brother and I would lie on the floor of their den with our heads under a tree that had been decorated with no less than three trees worth of lights and antique glass ornaments each multiplying those lights’ affect. We would lie under there with all the other lights off and just listen to those records while staring up through all of those tiny twinkling colored spots. It’s still one of my favorite Christmas memories, and that era of Christmas recordings is forever dear to me.

Bing was my grandmother’s favorite. And now, he’s one of mine as well.

Merry Christmas. I’ll see everyone in the New Year.

I’m sure I left out a whole bunch of stuff (like all references to food). Favorite cookie? Favorite Christmas beer? What are some of your holiday favorites?

6 responses to “Holiday Favorites

  1. Christmas movie: the Christmas Story, Polar Express, and my fav is National Lampoons Christmas Vacation.

    Songs: Horatio Sanz (sp?), Tracy Morgan, and Jimmy Falon in “Christmas Time is Here”, “Hannukah Song” by Adam Sandler, D&$# in a Box, Andy Sandberg and Timberlake.

    Good times. Merry Christmas!

    • Haha. If SNL hasn’t put out a Christmas record yet, then I hope they see this post and hook you up with that soon. I hope you’re having an wonderful holiday with the family Spencer. Thanks for sharing.

  2. My favorite thing about Christmas is very old fashioned: Christ; the love people believe in because of the spirit of hope and love He introduced, originally the reason for the season; the anticipation in little children; the wonder in little children’s eyes during all the season; and the perpetual hope for peace. Other than those things, I loathe Christmas : )

    • I’m sorry, but that last sentence almost made me chuckle. I’m not religious at all, but it sounds like we both loathe the same thing…the materialistic commercialization of what otherwise would be a total celebration of simple things, whether they be the joys of friend and family or the strengthening of faith. And as so many of the people I know are missing loved ones this Christmas, it makes that commercialization seem even more nonsensical and stupid in the grand scheme of things.

      I hope you are having a Merry Christmas. Thanks for sharing.

  3. A favorite gripping moment from “A Christmas Carol”:

    ‘They are Man’s,’ said the Spirit, looking down upon
    them. ‘And they cling to me, appealing from their fathers.
    This boy is Ignorance. This girl is Want. Beware them both,
    and all of their degree, but most of all beware this boy,
    for on his brow I see that written which is Doom, unless the
    writing be erased. Deny it.’ cried the Spirit, stretching out
    its hand towards the city. ‘Slander those who tell it ye.
    Admit it for your factious purposes, and make it worse.
    And abide the end.’

    ‘Have they no refuge or resource.’ cried Scrooge.

    ‘Are there no prisons.’ said the Spirit, turning on him
    for the last time with his own words. ‘Are there no workhouses.'”

    By the way, remind me to tell you about the time I apartment-sat for David Sedaris when he lived in New York in the 90s. (Honest!) There was a brief time when I knew him well enough for him to send me his apartment keys in the mail.

    Jay

    • Jay, from what I’ve seen of your travels and generally likable nature, I don’t think I’d be totally surprised if you house-sat for him at his apartment in France. I hope you’re having an excellent Christmas. Thanks for sharing Good Sir.

Leave a Reply

